Swamiji on Facebook Swamiji on Twitter Swamiji on Youtube

The Study and Practice of Yoga

by Swami Krishnananda

Table of Contents


Part 1: The Samadhi Pada

  1. The Aim of Yoga
  2. The Foundation of the Discipline in Yoga Practice
  3. A Broad Outline of the Stages of Yoga
  4. Individuality and Consciousness
  5. The Practice of Being Alone
  6. Spiritual Life is Positive, Not Punitive
  7. Initial Steps In Yoga Practice
  8. The Principle of Self-Affirmation
  9. Perception and Reality
  10. Self-Control: The Alpha and Omega of Yoga
  11. The Integrality of the Higher Self
  12. Sublimation - A Way to Reshuffle Thought
  13. Defence Mechanisms of the Mind
  14. The Indivisibility of All Things
  15. Consonance with the Essential Make-up of Things
  16. The Inseparability of Notions and the Mind
  17. Objectivity is Experience Finally
  18. The Dual Process of Withdrawal and Contemplation
  19. Returning to Pure Subjectivity
  20. The World and Our World
  21. Returning to Our True Nature
  22. Practice of Yoga: The Life and Goal of Our Existence
  23. Internal Relationship of All Things
  24. Affiliation With Larger Wholes
  25. Sadhana - Intensifying a Lighted Flame
  26. The Gunas of Prakriti
  27. Problems are a State of Mind
  28. Bringing About Whole-Souled Dedication
  29. The Play of the Gunas
  30. The Cause of Bondage
  31. Intense Aspiration
  32. Our Concept of God
  33. What Divine Love Is
  34. Surrender to God
  35. The Recitation of Mantra
  36. The Rise of Obstacles in Yoga Practice
  37. Preventing the Fall in Yoga
  38. Impediments in Concentration and Meditation
  39. Concentrating the Mind on One Reality
  40. Re-Educating the Mind
  41. Becoming Harmonious with All
  42. How Feelings and Sensation Work
  43. Harmonising Subject and Object
  44. Assimilating the Object
  45. Piercing the Structure of the Object
  46. The Barrier of Space and Time
  47. The Rise from Savitarka to Nirvitarka
  48. Encountering Troubles and Opposition
  49. The Rise to Savichara and Nirvichara
  50. The States of Sanada and Sasmita
  51. Sat-Chit-Ananda or God-Consciousness


Part II: The Sadhana Pada

Part III: The Vibhuti Pada

Part IV: The Kaivalya Pada