Commentary on the Bhagavadgita
by Swami Krishnananda

Table of Contents

  1. The Colophon of the Bhagavadgita
  2. The First Chapter: Visada Yoga, The Yoga of the Dejection of the Spirit
  3. The Second Chapter Begins: Sankhya Yoga, The Distinction between Purusha and Prakriti
  4. The Second Chapter Continues: How to Live in the World
  5. The Second Chapter Concludes: The Establishment of the Soul in Universality
  6. The Third Chapter Begins: The Relation Between Sankhya and Yoga
  7. The Third Chapter Concludes: The Knower of Reality
  8. The Fourth Chapter Begins: The Avataras of God
  9. The Fourth Chapter Continues: The Performance of Action as a Sacrifice
  10. The Fourth Chapter Concludes: Methods of Worship and of Self-Control
  11. The Fifth Chapter Begins: Knowledge and Action are One
  12. The Fifth Chapter Continues: The Characteristics of a Perfected Person
  13. The Fifth Chapter Concludes: The Characteristics of the Sage Who is Established in Brahman
  14. The Sixth Chapter Begins: The Characteristics of a Sannyasi and a Yogi
  15. The Sixth Chapter Continues: Requirements for the Practice of Meditation
  16. The Sixth Chapter Continues: Meditation on the Ishta Devata
  17. The Sixth Chapter Concludes: God's Great Promise to Us
  18. A Summary of the First Six Chapters
  19. The Seventh Chapter Begins: Transcending the Sankhya
  20. The Seventh Chapter Continues: The Glory of God and His Creation
  21. The Seventh Chapter Continues: The Gospel of Universal Religion
  22. The Seventh Chapter Concludes: Worshipping Deities
  23. The Eighth Chapter Begins: The Different Facets of the Supreme Being
  24. The Eighth Chapter Continues: The Thought at the Time of Death
  25. The Eighth Chapter Continues: Types of Liberation
  26. The Eighth Chapter Concludes: The Journey of the Soul After Death
  27. The Ninth Chapter Begins: The Kingly Knowledge and the Greatness of God
  28. The Ninth Chapter Concludes: Undivided Devotion to God
  29. A Summary of the First Nine Chapters
  30. The Tenth Chapter Begins: The Glories of God
  31. The Tenth Chapter Concludes: God's Special Manifestations
  32. The Eleventh Chapter Begins: Introduction to the Visvarupa Darshana
  33. The Eleventh Chapter Continues: The Visvarupa Darshana
  34. The Eleventh Chapter Continues: The Visvarupa Darshana Continues
  35. The Eleventh Chapter Concludes: Whole-souled Devotion to God
  36. The Twelfth Chapter Begins: The Best of Yogins
  37. The Twelfth Chapter Concludes: The Supreme Devotee of God
  38. The Thirteenth Chapter Begins: Consciousness and Matter
  39. The Thirteenth Chapter Continues: The Field and the Knower of the Field
  40. The Thirteenth Chapter Concludes: Understanding Purusha and Prakriti
  41. The Fourteenth Chapter: Rising Above the Three Gunas
  42. The Fifteenth Chapter Begins: The World as an Inverted Tree
  43. The Fifteenth Chapter Concludes: The Greatest Secret Revealed
  44. The Sixteenth Chapter Begins: Divine and Undivine Qualities
  45. The Sixteenth Chapter Concludes: What is Proper and What is Improper in Our Life
  46. The Seventeenth Chapter Begins: The Threefold Character of Faith
  47. The Seventeenth Chapter Concludes: The Meaning of Om Tat Sat
  48. The Eighteenth Chapter Begins: Renunciation, and Types of Action
  49. The Eighteenth Chapter Continues: Types of Understanding, Determination and Happiness
  50. The Eighteenth Chapter Continues: Knowing One's Duty
  51. The Eighteenth Chapter Concludes: The Bhagavadgita Concludes